Saturday, June 15, 2024
Google search engine
HomeSportsThe best photos of the 2023 Women’s World Cup

The best photos of the 2023 Women’s World Cup

For the first time in its history, Spain has won the Women’s World Cup. Olga Carmona’s goal in the 29th minute was the only scoring in the 1-0 victory over England on Sunday. The match was played at Stadium Australia in Sydney. Spain is now the fifth different nation to win the Women’s World Cup, joining Germany, Japan, Norway and the United States. Spanish midfielder Aitana Bonmatí won the Golden Ball, which is awarded to the tournament’s best player, and teammate Salma Paralluelo won the Young Player Award.

Japan’s Hinata Miyazawa won the Golden Boot as the tournament’s top scorer (five goals), and England’s Mary Earps won the Golden Glove as the tournament’s best goalkeeper. This was the first time ever that the Women’s World Cup was hosted by two countries. Australia and New Zealand shared hosting duties. This was also the first time that the event features 32 teams, expanding from 24. Eight countries made their Women’s World Cup debut: Haiti, Morocco, Panama, the Philippines, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Vietnam and Zambia. © 2023 Cable News Network. A Warner Bros. Discovery Company. All Rights Reserved.

CNN Sans ™ & © 2016 Cable News Network. Credit – CNN



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments